Victim-Baby Steps

20180120_200117

I was admitted to an outpatient day partial hospitalization program. My diagnosis was major depressive disorder and anxiety. The artwork describes my confusion. The only way I managed was to strive for perfection.

Suburban Hospital in Bethesda, MD, provided skill sets to help with managing my illness. The Wellness Recovery Action Plan (WRAP) was provided at the end of the program.  The WRAP contained:

  • Daily Maintenance/Planning List
  • Triggers
  • Managing Emotional Triggers
  • Managing Worry
  • Stages of Anxiety
  • Paradoxical Attitude
  • Mentalization
  • Self Sabotage Behaviors
  • Prodromal Symptoms in Major Depressive Disorder
  • Anger Management
  • Deep Breathing
  • Meditation
  • Sleep Health
  • Healthy Boundaries
  • Cognitive Distortions
  • Health Care
  • Mindfulness
  • The Five Love Languages
  • Locus of Control
  • Aggressive and Passive Behaviors

Suburban also provided support with Art Therapy and on-site therapist and psychiatrist.

I was released after finding a therapist and psychiatrist outside of the program.  Suburban also provided additional resources for after release.

The missing element was support after release.  Bimonthly therapy and monthly psychiatrist appointments was insufficient. Having the inability to focus, concentrate and motivation did not help when the therapist did not fit and help my needs.  I struggled for months trying to find support for the trauma from the childhood abuses.

I felt like a lost child in the woods. Nothing but tall trees to be seen for as far as your eyes can see. No end in sight. Baby steps, one step at a time in this journey. But I feel so very alone.

Next blog-discussion resources for adults suffering from childhood abuse.

~Anastasia~

Leave a comment